McDowell Mountain Preserve – Lost Dog Wash Loop

Round-Trip Length:  6.38 miles
Start Elevation:  1,751’
High Point:  2,110’
Elevation Change:  359’
Skill Level:  Easy
Trailhead Location:   The Lost Dog Wash Trailhead is located at 12601 N 124th Street, .65 miles north of E Via Linda.  From Highway 101, take exit #41 for Shea Blvd and head east for 2.2 miles to E Via Linda. Turn east on Via Linda for 2.5 miles to 124th Street. Turn left (north) and continue .65 miles to the trailhead at the top of the street.

As part of my adventure in Phoenix last weekend, I also did a hike in the McDowell Sonoran Preserve in Scottsdale on Easter Sunday morning.  I headed over to the Lost Dog Wash trailhead and started out on the trail around 8:30am.  It was another beautiful morning in the Phoenix area and a great day to get out and hike.

Heading up the trail from the trailhead.

IMG_42111

 

IMG_42141

 

A small barrel cactus along the trail.

IMG_4217e1

 

Several cholla cactus.

IMG_42241

IMG_4218e1

Tall saguaro cactus.

IMG_42201

 

I spotted one saguaro cactus in bloom.

IMG_42211

 

At 1.7 miles I came to the intersection with the Old Jeep Trail.  I look a left and headed up to the Taliesin Overlook.

IMG_4229e1

 

After another ½ mile, I arrived at the Taliesin Overlook.

IMG_42261

 

From the overlook, you have views  of Camelback Mountain (2,704′), Mummy Mountain (2,025′), and Piestewa Peak (2,608′).

IMG_4227e1

After taking in the views, I headed on back down the trail to pick up the Old Jeep Trail.

IMG_42251

A view along the Old Jeep Trail.

IMG_4231e1

A view of the McDowell mountains.

IMG_42331

A shot to get a perspective of the height of some of the saguaros.

IMG_0486

A silhouette shot of one of the saguaros.

IMG_04871

I continued from the Old Jeep Trail onto the Ringtail Trail and looped back around to the Lost Dog Wash trailhead to complete my loop.

IMG_42361

A final shot of me before heading back to the hotel to clean up to attend an afternoon Easter BBQ.

IMG_04831

My complete loop from my MayMyFitness app.

Lost Dog Wash

 

5 thoughts on “McDowell Mountain Preserve – Lost Dog Wash Loop

    • Andy, I’ ve tried to find out the origination of the trail name, and I can’t seem to find any information or history regarding how the trail got its name. I was also interested in knowing!

  1. Bob, I don’t see how you can see more in one day than I can see in a week. I learned more watching this than we did in the times we were there. It would have been good to see this before taking a trip to Az.

Leave a Reply

