Jasper Lake

Round-Trip Length:  13.26 miles (out-and-back)
Start Elevation:  8,796’
High Point:  10,867’
Elevation Gain:  2,071’ (net gain 2,142’)
Skill Level:  Moderate
Trailhead Location Jasper Lake is accessed from Hessie Trailhead in the Indian Peaks Wilderness near Nederland, CO.  From downtown Nederland, head south on Highway 72 for .5 miles to County Road 130 and turn right. You’ll see a sign for Eldora Ski Resort at this junction. Continue on Highway 130 through the town of Eldora, just past which it becomes a dirt road (4 miles). 2WD drive conditions end 4.8 miles from the Highway 72 turnoff.

It was time to get out for another high alpine lake hike.  I set my sights on Jasper Lake in the Indian Peaks Wilderness.  The trail guide I looked at said it was 8.8 miles roundtrip for this hike.  However, the guide I was referring to quoted mileage from the four-wheel drive parking area at the actual trailhead.  Most people park at the two-wheel drive parking so this adds another 1 mile round trip to the hike.  Because parking is so limited for the Hessie Trailhead, even though I arrived at the two-wheel drive parking area by 8:15am, it was not early enough on a Sunday morning to secure a parking spot.  I had to park about 0.8 miles down the road from the two-wheel drive parking area and start my hike from there.  This added an additional 1.6 miles to the hike.  Add my exploration around the lake once I got there, and the 8.8 mile turned into a 13.26 mile hike!  But, it was a very enjoyable hike.

I started from the car about 8:30am.  After a little over 2 miles, I came to the turnoff for Jasper Lake.

IMG_50231

After 2.7 miles I came to the Indian Peaks Wilderness boundary in an open meadow with beautiful views of the peaks to the west.

IMG_4962e1

IMG_4964e1

I saw some beautiful, huge Columbine flowers along the trail.

IMG_4966e1

The trail climbed through the woods to the Devil’s Thumb/Woodland Lake trail split at 3.5 miles.  The actual trail sign did not mention Jasper Lake but someone wrote Jasper on the sign for those that were unsure which way to go.

IMG_49681

Views of the surrounding peaks through the trees.

IMG_49701

The views continued to improve as the trail climbed higher up the valley.

IMG_4977e1

IMG_49761

The higher I climbed, the more Indian Paintbrush I saw along the trail.

IMG_49711

At a little over 5 miles, I came to the turn off for Diamond Lake).  You can read about this hike here.

IMG_49781

Nearing Jasper Lake, I came to a small pond which provided for some good reflection pictures.

IMG_4980e1

IMG_4981e1

Very near the lake, I came to a couple of good sized snowbanks still lingering from winter.

IMG_4982e1

After nearly 6 miles, I arrived at Jasper Lake set in a beautiful area surrounded by peaks and forest.

IMG_49841

IMG_4985e1

IMG_49971

IMG_4999e1

IMG_5002e1

IMG_5004e1

The outlet of Jasper Lake.

IMG_50061

 

I did a little exploring around the lake and sat for a while to take in the views while having lunch.  I could have stayed longer, but after spending nearly an hour at the lake, I decided to head back down the trail.

More flowers along the trail.

IMG_5014ec1

A stream crossing further down the trail.

IMG_5024e1

My route for the day:

Jasper Lake Route

I continued back to the car and headed home.  Another beautiful day in the High Country.  In the words of John Muir:  “Oh, these vast, calm, measureless mountain days, inciting at once to work and rest! Days in whose light everything seems equally divine, opening a thousand windows to show us God. Nevermore, however weary, should one faint by the way who gains the blessings of one mountain day; whatever his fate, long life, short life, stormy or calm, he is rich forever.”

 

9 thoughts on “Jasper Lake

Leave a Reply

